Schengen Agreement 1985 Pdf

1. The Contracting Parties may conclude bilateral agreements providing for the secondment of liaison officers from one Contracting Party to the police services of another Party for a specified or indefinite period. Differences of opinion between member states led to an impasse over the abolition of border controls within the Community, but in 1985 five of the then ten Member States – Belgium, France, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and West Germany – signed an agreement on the phasing out of checks at common borders. The agreement was signed on the princess marie-astrid boat on the Moselle, near the city of Schengen, Luxembourg,[5] where the territories of France, Germany and Luxembourg meet. Three of the signatories, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands, had already abolished common border controls within the framework of the Benelux Economic Union. [Citation required] 4. The Parties may agree, bilaterally or multilaterally, that liaison officers of a Contracting Party seconded to third countries also represent the interests of one or more other Parties. Within the framework of these Conventions, liaison officers seconded to third countries shall transmit information to the other Contracting Parties, upon request or on their own mandate, and, within the limits of their competence, shall perform tasks on behalf of those Parties. The Parties shall inform each other of their intentions with regard to the secondment of liaison officers to third countries.

5. This Article shall not preclude closer or future bilateral agreements between parties with a common border. The Parties shall inform each other of such agreements. The Schengen Agreement (German: /ˈʃɛŋ assister/) is a treaty that led to the creation of the European Schengen Area, in which internal border controls were largely abolished. It was signed on 14 June 1985 near the city of Schengen, Luxembourg, by five of the ten Member States of the European Economic Community at the time. .